Well, bread

When you make bread, there’s a lot of kneading and proving before you get to bake it, never mind eat it . . . I’ve been practising recently, when you have the right ingredients, and spend enough time, the results are quite tasty:

loaf

This week I became eligible to work as a music therapist – with a card and certificate to “prove” it – and I’d begun thinking of parallels between bread-making and my last few years.

You could say the preparation for music therapy training was like assembling ingredients, the training itself involved a lot of kneading and proving, and the loaf is finally baked (with a hollow sound when tapped!?).

I’m yet to savour the loaf (or make a crust) – still in the process of setting up music therapy work. Glad to say I’ve arranged a few meetings with people in organisations who are enthusiastic about music therapy for people they work with.

So, more here soon, and maybe I’ll review some of the kneading and proving and other books I’ve been reading – meantime there’s a list of some ingredients over here :)

And I can highly recommend the BAMT podcast: “Music Therapy Conversations” – every episode I listen to brings a range of new insights and topics to explore (also on iTunes/libsyn).

Leave a Reply

